Thu, 17 Sep | PARIS

FRANK ZAPPA

Without downtime thanks to the MODERN JUKEBOX, rediscover FRANK ZAPPA on 33 rpm vinyl through a high-fidelity association revealing all the power of analog!
Registrations are closed
FRANK ZAPPA

Heure et lieu

17 Sep 2020, 19:30 – 20:30
PARIS, 54 Rue de Stalingrad, 93310 Le Pre-Saint-Gervais, France

À propos de l'événement

#### THE ALBUM:

One Size Fits All is a Frank Zappa rock album released in 1975 .

Although presented as a studio album, One Size Fits All contains material recorded during concerts given in 1974. The basis of the song that opens the album, "Inca Roads", comes from a concert given in Los Angeles in August 1974 and of which we can hear extracts in the album The Dub Room Special! . His guitar solo, however, comes from a concert in Helsinki in September 1974 (which can be heard in its full version on the live album You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore, Vol. 2 , released in 1988) . The same process - called "xenochronie" by Zappa - is used for the track "Florentine Pogen", taken from the same concert in Los Angeles in August 1974 and cut off from her guitar solo (available in The Dub Room Special! ).

Note the presence of Johnny "Guitar" Watson , singer and American guitarist often cited in interviews given by Frank Zappa as one of his references in terms of guitarist, and who happened by chance in the studio where Zappa was recording with his group , the Mothers of Invention . He sings on the tracks "Andy" and "San Ber'dino".

The then composition of The Mothers of Invention ( George Duke on keyboards and vocals, Napoleon Murphy Brock on vocals and saxophone, Ruth Underwood on percussion, Tom Fowler on bass, Chester Thompson on drums) is one of the most unanimously acclaimed among Frank Zappa lovers. She is considered one of the most charismatic and cohesive, finding the balance between instrumental virtuosity and a sense of scenic entertainment , flowing with ease in the Zappaian musical universe while giving it a flamboyant jazz-rock and funky color. . The group will publish Bongo Fury again in 1975, along with Captain Beefheart , before breaking down. Zappa will then decide to perform under his only name until the end of his career.

In 2015, Dweezil Zappa and the group Zappa Plays Zappa performed One Size Fits All in full on stage, during their world tour, thus celebrating the 40th anniversary of the release of this album.

#### THE LISTENING SESSION:

Duration: 15 minutes of presentation (Refreshment on site) + 45 minutes of listening.

ROOM: ORPHÉAU AUDITORIUM - THE HIFI GARAGE

Capacity: 8 people.

Address: 54 Rue de Stalingrad, 93310 Le Pré-Saint-Gervais

Station: Porte de Pantin / Hoche station. Parking on site.

Contact: 05 59 22 71 25 - contact@orpheau.com

Please arrive 10 minutes early, all sanitary arrangements are in place, and see you soon for a music festival!

The Orphéau team.

Registrations are closed

Partager cet événement

jeu. 17 sept. | PARIS

FRANK ZAPPA

Sans temps mort grâce au JUKEBOX MODERNE, redécouvrez FRANK ZAPPA sur vinyle 33 tours à travers une association haute-fidélité révélant toute la puissance de l’analogique !
Les inscriptions sont closes
FRANK ZAPPA

Heure et lieu

17 sept. 2020 à 19:30 – 20:30
PARIS, 54 Rue de Stalingrad, 93310 Le Pré-Saint-Gervais, France

À propos de l'événement

#### L'ALBUM :

One Size Fits All (littéralement « taille unique ») est un album rock de Frank Zappa sorti en 1975.

Bien que présenté comme un album studio, One Size Fits All contient des éléments enregistrés lors de concerts donnés en 1974. La base du morceau qui ouvre l'album, « Inca Roads », est issu d'un concert donné à Los Angeles en août 1974 et dont on peut entendre des extraits dans l'album The Dub Room Special!. Son solo de guitare provient en revanche d'un concert à Helsinki en septembre 1974 (que l'on peut entendre dans sa version complète dans l'album live You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore, Vol. 2, paru en 1988). Le même procédé - appelé « xenochronie » par Zappa - est employé pour le morceau « Florentine Pogen », tiré du même concert à Los Angeles en août 1974 et amputé de son solo de guitare (disponible dans The Dub Room Special!).

À noter la présence de Johnny « Guitar » Watson, chanteur et guitariste américain souvent cité dans les interviews données par Frank Zappa comme l'une de ses références en matière de guitariste, et qui passait par hasard dans le studio où Zappa enregistrait avec son groupe, les Mothers of Invention. Il chante sur les titres « Andy » et « San Ber'dino ».

La composition d'alors des Mothers of Invention (George Duke aux claviers et au chant, Napoleon Murphy Brock au chant et au saxophone, Ruth Underwood aux percussions, Tom Fowler à la basse, Chester Thompson à la batterie) est une des plus unanimement acclamées parmi les amateurs de Frank Zappa. Elle est considérée comme l'une des plus charismatiques et cohésives, trouvant l'équilibre entre virtuosité instrumentale et sens de l'entertainment scénique, se coulant avec aisance dans l'univers musical zappaien tout en lui donnant une couleur jazz-rock et funky flamboyante. Le groupe publiera encore Bongo Fury en 1975, en compagnie de Captain Beefheart, avant de se déliter. Zappa décidera alors de se produire sous son seul nom jusqu'à la fin de sa carrière.

En 2015, Dweezil Zappa et le groupe Zappa Plays Zappa interprètent One Size Fits All en intégralité sur scène, lors de leur tournée mondiale, fêtant ainsi les 40 ans de la sortie de cet album

#### LA SESSION D'ECOUTE :

Durée : 15 minutes de présentation (Rafraîchissement sur place) + 45 minutes d'écoute. 

SALLE : AUDITORIUM ORPHÉAU - LE GARAGE HIFI

Capacité : 8 personnes. 

Adresse : 54 Rue de Stalingrad, 93310 Le Pré-Saint-Gervais

Station : Station Porte de Pantin / Hoche. Parking sur place. 

Contact : 05 59 22 71 25 - contact@orpheau.com

Merci de vous présenter 10 minutes en avance, toutes les dispositions sanitaires sont mises en place, et à bientôt pour un festival musical ! 

L'équipe Orphéau. 

Les inscriptions sont closes

Partager cet événement